Background 2019-10-04T11:05:10+00:00

Background Information
The Ministry of Labour and Social Protection was formed as a result of re-organization of Government in June, 2018. Presidential Circular No. 1 of 2018 which effectively constituted the re-organized government placed the following departments under the Ministry; the Department of Labour, Office of the Registrar of Trade Unions, Directorate of Occupational Safety and Health Services (DOSHS), Department of Children Services, Department of Social Development, Social Protection Secretariat, National Employment Authority (NEA), National Productivity and Competitiveness Centre (NPCC) and the Directorate of National Human Resource Planning and Development. Others are the Semi-Autonomous Government Agencies (SAGAs) namely the National Industrial Training Authority (NITA), Child Welfare Society of Kenya (CWSK), National Council for Persons With Disabilities (NCPWD) and National Council for Children Services (NCCS). The only Autonomous Government Agency (AGA) under the Ministry’s mandate is the National Social Security Fund (NSSF).