Skip to main content
Please wait...

Background Information

Background Information

The State Department for Social Protection and Senior Citizen Affairs falls under the  Ministry of Labour and Social Protection which was established following the re-organization of Government through Executive Order No. 1 of 2023.

It has four (4) Directorates namely: Directorate of Children’s Services; Directorate of Social Development; Directorate of Social Assistance and The National Social Protection Secretariat. It has four (4 )SAGAS: National Council of Children’s Services (NCCS); National Council for Persons with Disabilities; Street Families Rehabilitation Trust Fund and  Child Welfare Society of Kenya 

The State Department is mandated with the responsibility of ensuring implementation of Chapter 4 on the Bill of Rights of the Constitution. Article 43 sub article 3 states that ‘The State shall provide appropriate Social Security to persons who are unable to support themselves and their dependants.

In order to continuously address this obligation, the State Department pays special focus on the improvement of livelihood of vulnerable groups specifically the Orphans and Vulnerable Children(OVC), the Elderly, street families and Persons with Disabilities(PWDs). It therefore plays a pivotal role towards the realization of the country’s transformation agenda as advocated in Kenya Vision 2030, Medium Term Plan (MTP IV) and Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA)